Laughing Gas

Posted on May 27, 2010

0


I can only handle so much serious, and five hours of writing an analysis of a legal situation is enough for today. I’m probably covered on “serious” until next June. A colleague commented, when he mailed his analysis in to our instructor at the end of that grueling test, that root canals sometimes last that long, but at least they give you strong meds.

He was right! What was I thinking? I forgot the laughing gas!

Laughter really is the best medicine. It defuses almost any stress, relaxes worn muscles, energizes the tired, stimulates immunity, and fights gum disease. (Well? Maybe it does.) It certainly lengthens the life of small  people (especially when exercised by the tall people who deal with them.) I try to laugh lots every day. For your benefit, here are a few of my favorites.

Dawn Meehan, who blogs here, first wrote this to get my attention. I got busy with life and quit reading her blog, and recently checked back (a couple of years later.) A lot has changed in her life, including two book deals and the fact that she went from being a mother of six to a single ┬ámother of six. She’s still laughing. BIG kudos to her. If you don’t already know her, you might like following along. She’s braver than I, exposing almost everything about her private life in a blog, but it works for her, and maybe for you too.

I’m a long and fairly loyal fan of Dave Barry, as well. He talks politics, he talks family, and he talks flowers. And I usually find myself laughing that crazy laugh in which there is no sound and you can’t breathe. I think, contrary to the whole idea of not breathing, that it’s added years onto my life.

And finally, I like this, because it helps me remember to laugh at myself too, although, really, how could I forget?

Don’t overindulge. Hangovers are murder.

Posted in: Uncategorized