It’s Time

Posted on June 7, 2010

2


At a dinner party a couple of weeks ago, my friend Misti looked at my living room windows, back at me, and with a sideways smirk said, “Bonnie, it’s time to decide.”

She was referring to the fabric that has hung on them, three different pieces lopped over each of the three windows. I hung it up there months ago while I tried to decide what kind of curtains I was going to make. I liked each piece, but they were very different, and each made the room feel different. I thought about putting them all together, because eclectic is me. But there they hung, and to be honest, I hadn’t thought about them in months.

It takes another set of eyes to look at our lives and see something obviously unfinished and easily finishable. For myself, I’m comfortable with my projects, because I plan to “do stuff” all my life. I’ll never be finished, and I have a high tolerance for unfinished.

But I looked at my living room, which has seen quite a few dinner parties with those pieces of fabric up there, with her eyes, and wondered why I could tolerate that unfinished. It wasn’t as if curtains were going to make or break my social life in that room. So I decided, and I finished them tonight. It looks very nice. All of those pieces of cloth are in the room, working together. I didn’t use any of the hundred ideas I’ve had as I’ve looked at that cloth hanging there. It’s often like that when I finally decide.

Someone else in my life is deciding, because another person looked at her life and said, “It’s time to decide.” And it’s freedom to her, because she hadn’t thought about it consciously for awhile and hadn’t realized how miserable she was. It took that outside perspective to help her realize that she could do something about the situation.

In fact, I know quite a few people right now who are questioning the visions of their lives, blinking hard and wondering why they left this or that the way it is. It’s a good thing to do. It’s not likely to turn out as many of them predicted, but they’re going to like having things decided, and there’s power in just deciding to finish, even if they don’t have a clue at the moment.

Things take shape in the doing. The most important step is to decide to decide. It’s time. Your turn.

Posted in: Uncategorized