Messengers from my Father

Posted on October 11, 2012

2


Del Parson, lds.org

I could use a revelation. An angel would be good.

Last week I was thinking about Adam and Eve and waiting for further light and knowledge. I was thinking that they weren’t the only ones besieged by a Satan who is eager to present solutions that aren’t what anyone needs. I was thinking that perhaps I needed to simply stand face-to-face with him and tell him that I’m looking for messengers from my Father. It occurs to me that God may work in patterns with His children, and that if He wanted to share with us that pattern, He might tell us a story.

Perhaps in that story, two people would do the best they could to petition God, and in that yearning they would not only prove to God but to themselves how important His counsel was to them. Perhaps they might wait for a very long time, and someone who wanted to seem like he was in charge might present all kinds of attractive solutions to them in the interim. They would recognize that they were better off continuing to search for real answers rather than accept the pretended help of someone less trusted, though more physically present. So they would be courageous in their waiting, walking away from the Great Usurper and the false peace of his faulty solutions.

When the messengers of the long-awaited truth finally arrived, they would have to get rid of the pesky Pretender. He would not want to leave. He might throw a fit and try to intimidate. If the waiting ones really wanted the message, they would watch the tantrum fearlessly, filled with trust in the messengers and the Father who sent them.

If God wanted to highlight the values of integrity, perseverance, discernment, and patience, this would be a good story to tell. If this wait-prove-give process is the pattern of God’s dealings with people of faith, how wise to present it in story form.

I’ve been thinking about that story and assuming that I probably won’t see an angel for a while. Still, I might meet up with a messenger. I might test my powers of discernment to determine if he is from my Father. I might feel the sweep of a heavenly gaze sizing up my integrity and perseverance. I might sense an impending message, long-awaited.

Last weekend, messengers were descending to whisper in the ears of people called to speak their words. Angels of Light.

These were some of my personal questions as I prepared for General Conference:

  • Have you really considered areas of your life for which you might need further light and knowledge, or are you feeling pretty independent and confident?
  • How do you or will you prepare to hear the message they’ve brought to your waiting soul?
  • Is there any false peace, any distracting faulty solution that you need to sweep from your life to make room for a better?
  • Against what raging intimidation will you stand firm in order to hear that message?
  • When you hear it, will you write it down?
  • Will you have a plan of action for your many notes, perhaps on one or two major themes?

It was interesting to feel inspiration coalesce over the two days. It has been interesting to structure my life since.

(Cross-posted at Real Intent)